The REAL definition of the “Travel Bug”

Ahhhhhhhhh.. The “travel bug.” What an annoying analogy to compare to something so wonderful to have. Why must we criticize on those who lust for travel and seeing new places? I don’t see why we place shame in a name towards something like having the “travel bug” as if it’s some sort of phase the person is trapped in. “I’m not listening to emotional screamo music Aunt Petunia, I’m traveling the world!”

What does it mean to have the travel bug?

It means I want to overcome every language barrier. I want to listen to the #1 hit song teenagers are listening to in Nepal at the moment and I want to see animals in their natural habitats that aren’t from a magazine or Nat Geo Wild. I want to swim in every sea in the world, say I zip-lined the rainforests of Jamaica and that I danced all nights in the streets of Spain. I want to tell my kids, “you’re going to eat all the food on your plate,” not because of the starving kids in Africa but because of the time I witnessed a child beg me for money on a train in Italy. I want my life to be fully aware of what this world is full of and more importantly – what we are capable of.

It means I want the most out of my home country. I want to see racism disappear forever. I want to see stereotypes of other cultures completely die from society. When a picture is shown of a Chinese person, we see people of all skin colors, heights and body types. We don’t just see the person, we see their foods, their lands, and their history. I want to see this world change for the better as a first hand witness – a traveller!

Having the travel bug is like winning the lottery! You are one of the FEWEST people in the world who wants these things from our world. You want your life to be filled with stories no one else can repeat, see things no one else has seen, and become friends with people who others will never meet. You want the most out of life. You want the grandest adventure not everyone chooses to pursue. And that my friend… is something rare and valuable to have.

Imagine how much healthier our society would become if we all experienced each other’s cultures and learned the truths about ourselves instead of what society has vaguely labeled us as.If you have the travel bug, I urge you to chase that little sucker down and never stop. Encourage others. Inspire others. Change the world one country at a time.

6 thoughts on “The REAL definition of the “Travel Bug”

Leave a Reply

